Loading ...
zurück

At the annual convention of the German Society of Orthodontics (DGKFO) in Munich, we presented jointly with Dr Chhatwani (Lüdenscheid) and Dr Jacobs (University of Mainz) our newest research results.

 

Rate of loss of palatal implants with the support of wound healing plates: A clinical study from real-life examples

Chhatwani B, Gebhardt PF, Chhatwani S, Jacobs C.

 

AIM:

The aim of the study was to evaluate the rate of loss of palatal implants following treatment of the gum by means of a wound healing plate during the healing phase (3 months).

 

MATERIALS AND METHODS

The data of all patients who received palatal implants between January 2010 and June 2013 were analysed retrospectively. All implants were inserted by a dentist (Chhatwani B) in the middle anterior palate and indirectly fixed (TPA appliance) to support sagittal tooth movement. The rate of loss was the primary subject in question. The following parameters were examined by means of univariate (long-rank test) and multivariate (Cox’s regression) analysis: (a) the age of the patients (b) the sex of the patients.

 

RESULTS:

90 palatal implants were inserted in the mouths of patients between the ages of 13 and 50. Of these, 50 patients were female and 40 were male. Overall, the results demonstrated a rate of loss of 1/90 (1%) after the conclusion of the orthodontic treatment. The osseointegration was checked using a torque wrench. In the case of the non-osseointegrated implant, the patient stated that they had not worn the wound healing plate.

The univariate analysis could not conclusively indicate any influence of either sex or age on the rate of loss (P=0.0005; log-rank test). Due to the Cox regression analysis (P=0.001; Wald test), the significance was therefore not confirmed.

 

CONCLUSION

In comparison with previous studies, our results proved a lower rate of loss of palatal implants through use of a wound healing plate during the healing phase.

zurück

Loading ...
zurück

Zur Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Kieferorthopädie (DGKFO) in München konnten wir, in Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Chhatwani (Lüdenscheid) und Dr. Dr. Jacobs (Uni Mainz), unsere neuen Forschungsergebnisse präsentieren.

 

Verlustraten von Gaumenimplantaten mit Unterstützung von Wundheilplatten: Eine klinische Studie aus der Praxis

Chhatwani B, Gebhardt PF, Chhatwani S, Jacobs C.

 

ZIEL:

Ziel dieser Studie war es, die Verlustrate von Gaumenimplantaten, nach Versorgung des Gaumens mittels Wundheilplatte in der Einheilphase (3 Monate), zu evaluieren.

 

MATERIAL UND METHODEN:

Die Daten von allen Patienten die zwischen Januar 2010 und Juni 2013 ein Gaumenimplantat erhielten, wurden retrospektiv analysiert. Alle Implantate wurden von einem Behandler (Chhatwani B) im mittleren anterioren Gaumen inseriert und indirekt verankert (TPA-Suprakonstruktion) um sagittale Zahnbewegungen zu unterstützen. Die Hauptfragestellung lag in der Verlustrate. Folgende Parameter wurden dabei mittels univariater (long-rank test) und multivariater (Cox’s regression) Analyse erhoben: (a) das Alter der Patienten (b) das Geschlecht der Patienten.

 

ERGEBNISSE:

90 Gaumenimplantate wurden bei Patienten im Alter von 13-50 Jahren inseriert. Hiervon waren 50 weiblich und 40 männlich. Insgesamt konnte eine Verlustrate von 1/90 (1%) nach Abschluss der orthodontischen Behandlung nachgewiesen werden. Die Osseointegration wurde durch einen Drehmomentschlüssel überprüft. Im Falle des nicht osseointegrierten Implantates, gab die Patientin an, die Wundheilplatte zu keinem Zeitpunkt getragen zu haben.

Mittels univariater Analyse, konnte keine Abhängigkeit des Geschlechts und des Alters zur Verlustrate nachgewiesen werden (P=0.0005; log-rank test). Die Signifikanz wurde mittels Cox-Regressionsanalyse P=0.001; Wald test) demnach nicht bestätigt.

 

SCHLUSSFOLGERUNG:

Im Vergleich zu vorangegangenen Studien, konnte eine geringere Verlustrate von Gaumenimplanten durch Verwendung einer Wundheilplatte, während der Einheilphase, nachgewiesen werden.

zurück