Loading ...
zurück

At the annual convention of the German Society of Orthodontics (DGKFO) in Mannheim, we presented jointly with Dr Chhatwani (Lüdenscheid) our newest research results.

 

The misalignment of the condyle between habitual and central occlusions in patients with and without CMD symptoms

Chhatwani S, Gebhardt PF, Chhatwani B

 

AIM

In this study, the misalignment of the condyles between a bite in habitual and centric occlusion was determined in 26 patients with and 17 patients without CMD symptoms, in order to ascertain whether the position of the condyles can have an influence on the aetiology of CMD.

 

MATERIALS AND METHODS

Diagnostic models and a squeeze bite in both habitual and roth power centric positions were provided by 43 patients (26 with CMD symptoms, 17 without).

A manual function diagnosis of the chewing muscles was carried out on all patients. Patients without tender chewing muscles or pain around the jaw area were assigned to the asymptomatic group. The CMD patients were gathered from a pool of patients who came to our practice of their own will demonstrating symptoms of CMD. Patients not experiencing pain with just isolated clicking were excluded from this group.

After the arbitrary hinge axis has been rendered by means of a face bow, the upper and lower jaws were mounted in an articulator with the help of the centric bite registration. The misalignment of the condyles was measured using a mandibular positions indicator. This allowed us to ascertain sagittal and horizontal changes for the left and right side respectively, as well as the transverse misalignment of both condyles.

 

RESULTS

The number of patients with a transverse misalignment of more than 0.5mm was much higher in the group of patients with symptoms (62%) than in the control group (12%).

There was no significant difference in the sagittal and horizontal changes for the respective left and right condyles.

 

CONCLUSION

In symptomatic and unsymptomatic CMD patients, there is no significant difference in condylar transverse misalignment between habitual and centric occlusion. This indicates that the position of the condyle can have an influence on the development of CMD, but does not exclude the possibility of an individual adaptation in a particular patient. The transversal displacement cannot be determined using hand-held models.

 

zurück

Loading ...
zurück

Zur Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Kieferorthopädie (DGKFO) in Mannheim konnten wir, in Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Chhatwani (Lüdenscheid), unsere neuen Forschungsergebnisse präsentieren.

 

Der Versatz der Kondylen zwischen habitueller und zentrischer Okklusion bei Patienten mit und ohne CMD-Symptomatik

Chhatwani S, Gebhardt PF, Chhatwani B

 

ZIEL

In dieser Studie wurde an 26 Patienten mit CMD Symptomatik und 17 asymptomatischen Patienten der Versatz der Kondylen zwischen einer Bissnahme in habitueller Okklusion und in Zentrik bestimmt um zu überprüfen ob die Kondylenposition einen Einfluss auf die Ätiologie einer CMD-Erkrankung haben kann.

 

MATERIAL UND METHODEN

An 43 Patienten (26 CMD-Symptomatik, 17 asymptomatisch) wurden diagnostische Modelle, ein Quetschbiss in habitueller Okklusion und ein Power-Centric Biss nach Roth erstellt.

Bei allen Patienten wurde eine manuelle Funktionsdiagnostik der Kaumuskulatur durchgeführt. Patienten ohne druckdolente Kausmuskulatur oder Schmerzen im Bereich des Kiefergelenks wurden in die asymptomatische Gruppe eingeteilt. Die CMD-Patienten ermittelten sich aus einem Pool von Patienten welche sich von selbst auf Grund einer CMD-Symptomatik in unserer Praxis vorgestellt haben. Schmerzfreie Patienten mit lediglich einem isolierten Knacken wurden aus dieser Gruppe ausgeschlossen.

Nach arbiträrer Scharnierachsenübertragung mittels eines Gesichtsbogens wurden der Oberkiefer und der Unterkiefer mit Hilfe des Zentrikbisses in einen Artikulator montiert. Mit einem Mandibular-Positions-Indikator wurde der Versatz der Kondylen im Quetschbiss registriert. Es wurden sagittale und horizontale Veränderungen jeweils für die linke und rechte Seite und zudem der transversale Versatz beider Kondylen ermittelt.

 

ERGEBNISSE

Die Anzahl der Patienten mit einem transversalen Versatz von mehr als 0.5mm war in der symptomatischen Gruppe (62%) signifikant höher als in der Kontrollgruppe (12%).

Es bestand kein signifikanter Unterschied in den sagittalen und horizontalen Veränderungen für den jeweiligen Kondylus der linken bzw. rechten Seite.

 

SCHLUSSFOLGERUNG

Bei symptomatischen und asymptomatischen CMD-Patienten besteht ein signifikanter Unterschied im kondylären transversalen Versatz zwischen habitueller und zentrischer Okklusion. Dies indiziert, dass die Position des Kondylus einen Einfluss auf die Entstehung einer CMD-Erkrankung haben kann - schließt aber eine individuelle Adaptation des Patienten nicht aus. Die transversale Verschiebung lässt sich an handgehaltenen Modellen nicht feststellen.

zurück